October 2012

Arrivals and Departures

We welcome the pupils who have commenced in St Colmcille’s BNS, and we look forward to working with them and their parents during the coming years. We thank Ms Coleen Mc Gee and Ms Eimear Hurley, both of whom transferred to new schools at the start of the new school for their devoted service to our school, and we take this opportunity to wish them well for the future.

Congratulations and Best Wishes

We congratulate Ms Maria Kildea and Mr John Paul Moore, Miss Olivia Clinton and Mr Ciaran Dunne, Ms Coleen Mc Gee and Mr Colm Morris who were married during the Summer Vacation. We send our congratulations and best wishes to Ms Claire Sweeney and Mr Brian Gallagher who have recently become engaged. We send our best wishes to Ms Lorraine Smith and Mr Ron Wainwright on the occasion of their forthcoming wedding.

Sponsored Jog

The jog was held on Friday, 28 September 2012. We are deeply aware of the much harsher economic times which are impacting on all members of our school community, and we thank the parents and pupils who have contributed the sum of €6,281.94.  At the time of writing, the number of cards not returned was 140. The raffle for pupils who have contributed at least €10 as a result of the jog will be held on Friday, 26 October 2012.

Accounts / School Requisites on Book Lists

On each book list, an amount is listed for payment towards school requisites. This money is used by class teachers to pay for some or all of the following items:

3 merit books per year, handwriting books (rented or subsidised by the school), stamps for the postage of school reports (2 per year), national tests (Maths, English and Irish), hard backed copies, Tin Whistles (specific classes), photocopying, markers, laminating, toys, jig saws, copies (specific classes), pencils and crayons (specific classes), art and craft requisites. With regard to the pupils being prepared for liturgies and post primary assessment tests, the money received from parents often does not defray the full costs.

At a general level, the school carries among other items the cost of booklets for liturgies, report cards, envelopes, general printing of newsletters, circulars, certificates, prizes for the code of behaviour scheme. The amount spent on stationery-related items during the last school year was over €9,000.

New Permanent Building

The Department of Education and Skills has given the school a grant towards the replacement of 2 Portcabins. It is hoped to have a new permanent building in place by the start of the new term in January 2013

Duty of Care / Behaviour in Junior Yard Prior to 8.50 a.m.

This is a reminder with regard to the commencement of the School’s Duty of Care. It is important to bear in mind that parents are responsible for their children prior to 8.50 a.m. The boys are expected to assemble in their lines and not to run around the yard, through flowerbeds and into the car parks. There has been a significant departure from correct practice since we returned to school, and we ask the co-operation of parents to ensure that we do not have to deal with accidents or incidents of misbehaviour.

Traffic in School Grounds

Our insurers have asked that attention be drawn to the importance of preventing unauthorised access to the school grounds by people driving children to school. There is no permission for parents / guardians to drive cars into the school grounds.

Education Cut-Backs

There has been a considerable drop in our enrolment numbers, and this will impact in 2 ways. Firstly, there will be a significant reduction in the capitation grant which the school will receive from Department of Education and Skills, and secondly, there will be a split class in the school in the year 2013-14.

Transfer to Post-Primary Schools

With regard to St Finian’s and Fingal Community Colleges, application forms have been given to the pupils in 6th Class and should be returned to the particular schools as soon as possible. Coláiste Choilm uses a booking system so it is important for parents to make application for their sons as soon as possible, irrespective of the class in which the boys are at present.

School Clothing for Sale

The recent sale of uniforms and tracksuits was very successful. We still have a small amount of track suit bottoms for sale, and will send out notice shortly with regard to a date to sell them.

Well Done

Congratulations to the members of the Parents’ Associations and the Board of Management who organised so successfully and attended the inaugural Teddy Bears’ Picnic for our new pupils in Junior Infants

Parents’ Association

We thank the members of the Parents’ Association for their support and co-operation during the past year, and wish them well for the coming year. We urge parents to become actively involved in the Parents’ Association, and if at all possible to attend the AGM which will held in the school hall at 8.00 p.m. on Tuesday, 23 October.

Important Dates

5 February: First Penance; 25 April: Confirmation; 18 May: First Communion

Attendance Awards

In conjunction the National Educational Welfare Board, we have introduced an award scheme to recognise pupils whose attendance has been outstanding during the previous school year. We congratulate the following pupils who will be recipients of awards:

Gold Certificate (Full attendance)

Ravi Gollapalli, Sean O’ Sullivan, Adam Caffrey, Ben Biggins, Joshua Sunil-Matheew, Edosa Omorowa, Luke Uzell, Ian Mahon, Brian McGuirk, Obinna Mwosu, David Chuks, Carl McGrath, Evan Nolan-McGill, Kyle Cacho, Wisdom Ovuike, Luke Fagan, Caleb Musa, Samson Osibodu, and David Obikoya

Silver Certificate (practically full attendance)

Cian Toft, David Chuks, Michael Mboko, Darragh Brown, Kasparas Juskus, Daniel Ovuike,Raffaele Mazzola, David Sweeney, Kelvin Amankwah, Dimitrij Sudarokov, Exaucer Luzemba, Fineas Groza, Michael Carroll, Simon Adnan, Steven Wang, Nicholas Mihalachi, Kial Hensman, Mark Ela, Lee Bowers, Conor Biggins, Khalid Animashun, Conor Quinn, Kenny Amusat, Michael Osibodu, Jeremy Odor, Ryan Ward, Cianan Markey, Darragh Markey, Joshua Phelan, Anatoliy O’Reilly, Eoin O’Shaughnessy, Abdul-Qudus Folawiyo, David Carroll, Shane O’Rourke, Agayi Oluwanifemi, Darragh Markey, Ben Fagan, Oran Brennan, Sean O’ Neill, Stephen Mahon, Azeez Folawiyo and Michael Fitzpatrick.

Focal Scoir

We thank all members of the school community for their support and co-operation and wish them well as we endeavour to do our very best for the pupils entrusted to our care.

Ní neart go cur le chéile.